Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS)

Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS):Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Level
II is a set of healthcare procedure codes based on the American
Medical Association’s Current Procedural Terminology (CPT).
Level II codes are maintained by the US Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS). Level II of the HCPCS is a
standardized coding system that is used primarily to identify
products, supplies, and services not included in the CPT-4
codes, such as ambulance services and durable medical
equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS)
when used outside a physician’s office. The level II HCPCS
codes were established for submitting claims for these items.